Top Ten Tuesdays: Leaving Our Comfort Zone

Top 10 Tuesday Header

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.

This week the topic is “books that you’ve enjoyed in the last year(ish) that have been outside of your comfort zone or regular genre.” Unfortunately, our lists are lacking a bit. On the bright side, this made us realize that we need to break out a little bit and read some different books, which may lead to a new series of posts in the future!

Erin’s Picks

Illuminae by Amie Kaufman & Jay Kristoff

This barely qualifies, but if the hype surrounding it, even at the time of BEA, wasn’t as great, I probably wouldn’t have picked it up. I tend not to be overly interested in space-set Sci-Fi, though I have liked the few books I’ve read. Illuminae was utterly fantastic. The unique format of transcripts, stolen documents, and excellent typography instead of your typical prose kept my attention all the way through (which, with my slump last year, was difficult to do).

A Darker Shade of Magic by V.E. Schwab

Another book that barely makes the cut, A Darker Shade of Magic is on this list because, while I voraciously read YA High Fantasy, I very rarely can get all the way through Adult novels. I read ADSOM in just a few short days, and it was amazing!

Lisa’s Picks

Blythewood series by Carol Goodman

As someone who doesn’t normally read YA novels, this series makes the list. I read all three of them and really liked them! What surprised me the most was the amount of history that the author intertwined into the story and thought that she touched on women’s suffrage really well too.

Amanda’s Picks

The Art of Keeping Cool by Janet Taylor Lisle

I felt bad that I only had one book to add to this list, and that was only because my fiancé asked me to read it. He read it in school and it has always been one of his favorite books. I don’t have much of an interest in Historical Fiction, unless it is fantastical or alternate history, so this is definitely a book that I would not have pick up on my own.

That being said, I did enjoy this. Set during the period of World War II, a small Rhode Island town deals with fear of all things German, including the German artist living on the outskirts of town. Robert, a young boy, tries to balance life with family and the world around him changing in the face of such trying times. His family is keeping secrets from him, he’s afraid of his hot-tempered controlling grandfather, and his strange cousin has been hanging out with the artist – causing quite a stir. Surprisingly, a lot happens in this book but it was a very quick read at only 250 pages.

Have you read any books that you were unsure about and ended up liking? Let us know in the comments below!

Signature

Leave a Reply

