Top Ten Tuesday: Books That Need More Hype

Top 10 Tuesday Header

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.

This week’s topic is “books that we love but haven’t talked about enough/in a while”. We have come up with a great list this week of our personal “underdog” favorite books!

Erin’s Picks

TTT Erin

Grave Mercy by Robin LaFevers

Assassin nuns. In 1480’s Brittany (now France). I mean, right?? SIGN ME UP. Perhaps unsurprisingly, this series more than lives up to the epicness the phrase “assassin nuns” suggests.

Altered by Jennifer Rush

About four genetically-altered boys that live in a secret lab and the girl that helps monitor them (and eventually aids in their escape), this is a thriller you don’t want to miss.

Hearts at Stake by Alyxandra Harvey

Released during the post-Twilight vampire craze, this first book in The Drake Chronicles offers an interesting take on the creatures we love.

Night World by L.J. Smith

A series of novels focusing on a society of supernaturals as the old magic resurfaces and Soulmate connections are made, most of which break one of the cardinal rules of the Night World: “Never fall in love with a human.” Rife with magic, deceit, and love beating the odds, these are some of my favorite books of all time.

(Though these are standalones and can pretty much be read in any order, I recommended starting with Vol. 1/Secret Vampire.)

Born Wicked by Jessica Spotswood

A superb alternate-history novel featuring what it would be like in 19th-century New England if the witch trials still happened—and there were actual witches in danger.

Lisa’s Picks

TTT Lisa

Thief of Shadows by Elizabeth Hoyt

Elizabeth Hoyt is one of my top romance authors of all times. She always knows how to weave grit, romance, and depth into every book she writes. Thief of Shadows will always rank up there as one of the best romance novels of all times. I’m honestly madly in love with hero.

Daughter of the Forest by Juliet Marillier

Daughter of the Forest will always be a favorite of mine. Based off of an old folk tale, this story is mystical and inspiring. Whenever Juliet Marillier introduces a new book into the series I buy it immediately! She is definitely an author to check out.

First Comes Marriage by Mary Balogh

This series. This series. This series. If you are looking for a true traditional romance novel set in the regency era, I would recommend this series. Mary Balogh writes in perfect fashion for the time period. Her books are always history accurate and fun.

Pawn of Prophecy by David Eddings

These books will always hold a place in my heart. They were the first fantasy books I ever read, given to me by my brother. The whole series is a fast adventure, filled with magic and great characters! Read it…please.

Green Rider by Kristen Britain

Green Rider is another fantasy book which I can’t seem to talk enough about. It is unique and individualistic. A rare find and truly a treasure.

Amanda’s Picks

TTT Amanda

The Likeness by Tana French

While I love mysteries, I don’t often read a lot of mystery books. This series of books is one that I have kept up with through the years, mostly through audio books because the accents enrich the story. This one in particular was thrilling, thought-provoking, and exciting. I could really feel the characters in this one.

City of Dark Magic by Magnus Flyte

I read this book in nearly one sitting while on vacation because I just couldn’t bear to put it down. The mystery of it is full of twists and turns, as well as, the magical and unexpected. I loved the aspects of history that were put into it too.

Love Walked In by Marisa de los Santos

It has been so long since I read this book, I lent it to someone and don’t think I ever got it back. I can hardly remember most of the story, but I remember the extreme feelings that this book dragged out of m. There was a lot of silent crying because the story was beautiful and well-written.

Heist Society by Ally Carter

The Ocean’s Trilogy of movies are some of my absolute favorite movies, reading this book (and the rest of the series) reminded me so much of a teenage version of that and all the other heist movies that I enjoy.

Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo

Speaking of heists, if you want a colorful cast of characters and stakes that couldn’t be higher, this is the book for you! I picked up the ARC at BEA last year and read the whole book on the way home. I almost read it while walking through the airport because I was itching to get back into the story.

What books do you think are under-rated?

Signature

5 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Books That Need More Hype

Leave a Reply

